Over the summer I spent four glorious days in NYC. While I was in NYC (more specifically, in line to get a table at Ellen’s Stardust Diner*) I met a woman from Soho. She was in line with a group in front of my mother and I. 

I decided to write about this experience because it’s nearly two months later and I still think about her. I spent probably less than ten minutes taking to this woman but I found such a kindred spirit in her. I wish I had asked to take a picture with her or at least asked her for her name because I don’t think I’ll ever forget her. 

I could tell by her appearance I would like her, her style was so artistic (it makes sense she was from Soho). She struck up a conversation with me because of my purple hair and powder blue lipstick (my style is what you might call eccentric). Say what you will about New Yorkers being stereotypically rude but that was not even close to my experience.

This woman was so kind and kept complimenting my style and told my mother how glad she was that she allowed me to express my uniqueness through my style. I could see a lot of this woman in myself and I hope that one day I can have the positive impact on someone that this woman had on me.

Since I don’t have a picture with the woman from Soho, here is a picture of me in front of the restaurant.


To the woman from Soho: Thank you for leaving such a positive impact on me, I hope our paths cross again one day.

Uniquely yours,

Brandi

* showtune singing waitstaff… Need I say more

